Five centuries of garden history…

 

At the heart of the Gâtinais region, the park of Courances extends over 75 hectares. Long thought to have been designed byLe Nôtre, the park is in reality a century older. First and foremost, the park is a “water garden” dating back to the Renaissance, a style that came after the enclosed Medieval garden but before the classical park.

 

The park of Courances was modified over the centuries, with each owner wishing to establish his personal imprint. Glimpses of the classical French park of the 17th century, the French-style garden of the 19th and Japonism can all be seen today. Abandoned in 1830, then restored by Achille Duchêne, the park has undergone many transformations. In no way can Courances be considered a museum, and even today the park is constantly evolving.

 

Listed as one of France’s most outstanding gardens, the park is open to the public every weekend and on public holidays from 6 April to 3 November: enjoy the changing faces of this unique place in spring, summer and autumn…

 

Map Illustration by: Pigment & Parchment

Cinq siècles d’histoire des jardins…

 

Au cœur du Gâtinais, le parc de Courances s’étend sur 75 hectares. Très longtemps présenté comme une œuvre de Le Nôtre, le parc de Courances est en réalité plus ancien d’un siècle. Le parc est d’abord et avant tout un jardin d’eau de la Renaissance, style qui succéda au jardin clos médiéval et qui précéda le parc classique.

 

Le parc de Courances n’a cessé d’être modifié au fil des siècles, chaque propriétaire souhaitant y imprimer sa marque. Le parc classique français du 17ème siècle, le style « à la française » du 19ème ou le japonisme cohabitent en un même lieu. Abandonné en 1830, puis restauré par les Duchêne, le domaine de Courances connut bien des péripéties ! Mais nulle muséification ici ! Le parc reste en constante évolution.

 

Labellisé « Jardin Remarquable », le parc est ouvert au public tous les weekends et jours fériés du 26 mars au 1er novembre 2016 : venez profiter de ce lieu unique au printemps, en été, et à l’automne…

 

Map Illustration by: Pigment & Parchment