Les Jardins de Courances

 

The adventure began just 5 years ago, in 2013. Something that was instinctively felt became a conviction. The idea was to shorten distribution circuits, and – as we are only 50 km from Paris – perhaps ultimately to help to “feed Paris”. Or at least, reduce the distance between the garden fork and the consumer’s plate.

 

After decades slumbering beneath a carpet of alfalfa, the walled garden of the chateau was brought back to life. Certified as organic (AB) since January 2015, the walled garden covers 2.8 hectares adjacent to the park, on the edge of the village in the direction of Milly-la-Forêt.

 

Les Jardins de Courances is the name of the brand that today sells vegetables, and will perhaps tomorrow sell the products of  the plain, with its 500 hectares of organic crops in 2018. Another challenge: the large-scale crops (primarily cereals) that shape the landscape of the French countryside. Here too, our focus will be on varieties and quality rather than yield.

 

 

We have three main outlets for our fine organic vegetables. The farm shop. A helpful and supportive organic smallholding association outlet based at Epinay-sur-Orge. And finally, a digital brand, Tomato & Co, which offers “dedicated” parcels of land to families, companies and restaurant owners who not only monitor what is being grown, but also decide with the gardeners what will be delivered to them at different times of the year.

Les paniers de Nicolas, a new restaurant at Chailly-en-Bière, is much more than an outlet, and takes a close neighbourly interest in what we do.

 

Contact

 

01 69 90 54 01

boutique@lesjardinsdecourances.net

Facebook : Les Jardins de Courances

Twitter : @JardinCourances

Instagram : @Lesjardinsdecourances

Les Jardins de Courances

 

L’aventure a commencé il y a seulement 5 ans, en 2013. Des intuitions sont devenues des convictions. Il s’agit de raccourcir les circuits de distribution et puisque nous sommes à 50 km de Paris, pourquoi pas, à terme, « nourrir Paris…» !? En tout cas, rapprocher la fourchette (le consommateur) de la fourche (l’agriculteur).

 

Après des décennies de sommeil sous un tapis de luzerne, le potager du château a été ressuscité par Valentine de Ganay. Certifié biologique (AB) depuis Janvier 2015, le potager se déploie sur 2,8 hectares clos de murs aux abords du parc à la sortie du village en direction de Milly-la-Forêt.

 

Les Jardins de Courances, c’est le nom de la marque qui commercialise aujourd’hui les légumes et demain, vendra peut-être les produits de la plaine, 500 hectares en bio en 2018. Un nouvel enjeu, ce qu’on appelle les « grandes cultures » (céréales principalement), celles qui dessine le paysage français… Là aussi, on va s’intéresser plus aux variétés et à la qualité qu’aux rendements.

 

 

Pour nos légumes, bios mais surtout bons, nous avons trois débouchés principaux. La boutique du village. Une AMAP, solidaire et sympathique, celle d’Epinay-sur-Orge. Enfin, une appellation numérique, Tomato & Co qui propose des parcelles « dédiées » à des familles, des entreprises et des restaurateurs qui non seulement peuvent suivre l’action mais décider avec les jardiniers ce qui va leur être livré au long de l’année.

Les paniers de Nicolas, un nouveau restaurant à Chailly-en-Bière est plus qu’un débouché, un voisin complice.

 

Contact

 

01 69 90 54 01

boutique@lesjardinsdecourances.net

Facebook : Les Jardins de Courances

Twitter : @JardinCourances

Instagram : @Lesjardinsdecourances